This is an English translation of the Japanese original. The Japanese version and the announcements published by Kagoshima Prefecture and the official booking site are authoritative.
Last updated: 22 September 2026. Bookings opened on 14 September. This article is based on Kagoshima Prefecture's supplementary budget documents and the information published on the official booking site for the "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari" (Kagoshima tourism support discount). The start is now confirmed: 14 September, for stays through the night of 13 October (checkout by 14 October). Always check the official site for detailed conditions and eligible properties.
The "Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari" went on sale on 14 September, and eligible stays run through the night of 13 October (checkout by 14 October). Stays within the prefecture are up to 60% off, capped at 20,000 yen per person per booking. The official site warns that "some properties and operators may have already closed bookings," and the number of listed participating properties fell from 402 on 13 September to 384 on 15 September. Bookings are made through the official booking site.
What has been decided: 60% off, capped at 20,000 yen, 452 million yen
The stated purpose in the budget proposal published on 2 September reads: "In light of the many accommodation cancellations caused by the 2026 Kumamoto earthquake, funds are appropriated for discount assistance for travel involving a stay in the prefecture, in order to bring about an early recovery in travel demand." It is open to residents and non-residents alike — it is not restricted to Kagoshima residents.
It is "the prefecture's own" scheme, but the money comes from the national government. On the revenue side of the proposal, the only line that increases is national treasury disbursements, by 452 million yen. Prefectural tax, prefectural bonds and transfers from funds are all zero. So the entire 452 million yen is national money. "Prefecture's own" means the prefecture designed it and is running it ahead of the national scheme — not that the prefecture is paying for it. The prefecture's general account rises to 926.1 billion yen after the supplement.
Press reports state that accommodation facilities in the prefecture saw more than 110,000 person-nights of cancellations after the 2026 Kumamoto earthquake — driven less by damage in Kagoshima itself than by travellers avoiding Kyushu as a whole.
How it differs from the national Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari, and which to use
Two discounts now sit side by side in Kagoshima, staggered in time. For stays in September, only the prefectural discount was available; from 1 to 13 October, the two periods overlap.
| Item | Kagoshima prefectural scheme | National Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari |
|---|---|---|
| Official name | Kagoshima Kanko Ouenwari (project name: Kagoshima Emergency Tourism Attraction Project) | Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari |
| Start | Stays from 14 September to 13 October (checkout by 14 October) | Stays from 1 October |
| Area | Stays within Kagoshima | All seven Kyushu prefectures |
| Discount | 60% | 60% Kumamoto & Kagoshima / 50% other five |
| Cap | 20,000 yen per person per booking | 20,000 yen (stay only / 1-night package) 30,000 yen (2+ nights) / 35,000 yen (multi-prefecture) |
| Budget | 452 million yen | 15.5 billion yen (MLIT reserve funds) |
| Silver Week (19–23 Sep) | Covered (within the period) | Not covered (stays from 1 October) |
Note that with the eligible period now fixed, the prefectural and national discounts run in parallel from 1 to 13 October. The official site does not state whether they can be combined, but schemes of this type usually do not allow double-dipping on the same stay. For the overlapping period, it is safest to assume you choose one or the other. See our article on the Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari for the national scheme.
384 participating properties — a third are on the islands, down 18 in two days
The official site publishes a list of participating properties that apply the discount to direct bookings. As of 15 September 2026 there are 384 properties. Counting them by area reveals a distribution typical of Kagoshima.
| Area | Properties | Main municipalities |
|---|---|---|
| Remote islands | 134 | Amami 37, Yakushima 20, Setouchi 20, Tatsugo 16 |
| Central Satsuma | 75 | Kagoshima City 70, Hioki 3 |
| Kirishima / Aira | 63 | Kirishima 51, Isa 6, Aira 4 |
| South Satsuma | 54 | Ibusuki 36, Minamikyushu 9, Minamisatsuma 5 |
| North Satsuma | 31 | Satsumasendai 11, Satsuma 7, Izumi 6 |
| Osumi | 27 | Kanoya 14, Shibushi 7, Tarumizu 4 |
What stands out is that 134 properties, or 35% of the total, are on the remote islands — Amami, Yakushima, Setouchi and Tatsugo, places where airfare or ferry fares are usually the obstacle. A ¥20,000 cut in the room rate can be redirected to the cost of getting there.
By municipality the order is Kagoshima City 70, Kirishima 51, Amami 37 (including Kasari) and Ibusuki 36, spread across 38 municipalities in total. By type there are 143 hotels, 74 simple lodgings, 67 ryokan, 58 cottages and whole-house rentals, and 34 guesthouses and pensions, plus 8 private lodgings registered under the Private Lodging Business Act.
The count is already falling. The same list showed 402 properties on 13 September and 384 on 15 September, the day after launch — down 18 in two days. The decline is spread across areas, but the islands account for the largest share. Given the official site's note that "some properties and operators may have already closed bookings," it is likely that properties whose allocation is used up are dropping off the list (the prefecture has not explained the change, so a routine data update cannot be ruled out). Either way, it is safer to act while your candidate property is still listed.
Note that this list covers properties that apply the discount to direct bookings. Properties that offer it through travel agencies or online booking sites must be checked on those companies' own sites, so 384 is not the total number of eligible properties.
Which price of room gives the most benefit — working back from the 20,000 yen cap
With a 60% discount capped at 20,000 yen, the benefit is maximised exactly where the discount reaches the cap. Above that, paying more adds nothing to the discount.
Price at which the cap is reached
20,000 ÷ 0.6 = 33,334 yen
In other words, at roughly 33,300 yen per use the discount hits exactly 20,000 yen and flattens out.
- 15,000 yen room → 9,000 off (you pay 6,000)
- 25,000 yen room → 15,000 off (you pay 10,000)
- 33,334 yen room → 20,000 off (you pay 13,334) — the turning point
- 50,000 yen room → 20,000 off (you pay 30,000; effective discount drops to 40%)
The official site states the cap explicitly as "up to 20,000 yen per person per booking". Because it applies per booking rather than per night, consolidating consecutive nights into a single booking makes it easier to reach the cap.
So if you have room to trade up to a slightly better hotel than usual, it pays to go up to the low 30,000s. Conversely, above 50,000 yen the discount amount no longer changes, so there is little point choosing by discount rate.
How long will 452 million yen last?
With a fixed budget, schemes like this run out on a first-come basis. A sense of scale helps you decide how fast to move.
| Assumed average discount | Approximate number of uses covered |
|---|---|
| 20,000 yen (everyone hits the cap) | about 22,600 |
| 12,000 yen (20,000 yen rooms) | about 37,600 |
| 9,000 yen (15,000 yen rooms) | about 50,200 |
Set against the reported 110,000-plus cancellations, this budget covers barely half at best. It is realistic to assume that the allocation will be taken up quickly. If you already have a property in mind, book it while it is still on the official booking site's list.
What is still unknown
- Whether it can be combined with the national discount — the official site says only that this is "a Kagoshima-specific campaign run separately from the Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari" and does not state whether the two can be combined. The periods overlap from 1 to 13 October, so it is safest to assume one scheme per stay. The national share (60% off) starts in mid-October and covers stays through the end of February 2027, picking up where the prefecture's own scheme leaves off.
- How much of the budget remains — the prefecture does not publish the remaining balance. The 452 million yen is consumed first-come and the scheme ends when it is gone; the official site notes that "some properties and operators may have already closed bookings." Because the overall balance is invisible from outside, the number of listed properties is the practical proxy.
Discounts of this kind have conventionally been treated as temporary income (ichiji shotoku) for Japanese tax purposes, but there is an annual special deduction of 500,000 yen, so no filing is required unless you have other temporary income. See the Kyushu Fukko Ouenwari article.
Summary
- The Kagoshima Tourism Support Discount offers 60% off lodging within the prefecture, capped at ¥20,000 per person per booking. The ¥452 million program budget is fully funded by the national government.
- Eligible stays run from the September 14 sales launch through nights of October 13. Bookings made before the launch date are not eligible.
- 384 facilities offer the discount through direct booking, with a third on remote islands. The count has already dropped by 18 in two days, showing slots are being used up.
- The discount hits its cap at a room rate of about ¥33,300. Choosing a pricier stay won't increase the discount amount.
- October 1-13 overlaps with the national Kyushu Recovery Support Discount, but whether they can be combined is not specified. Treat the same stay as eligible for only one or the other.
Sources
This article is for general information, based on information published as of 15 September 2026. The scheme may end once the budget allocation is reached, so always check the official booking site and your accommodation's announcements before booking.









